Get our newsletters

Department of Aging expands shared housing program into Bucks County


Department of Aging has expanded its shared housing program into five additional counties.

The Pennsylvania Department of Aging’s Shared Housing and Resource Exchange Program, also known as SHARE, has expanded into five additional counties, Bucks, Lackawanna, Montgomery, Northumberland and Philadelphia.

The program began five years ago as a pilot in Pike, Wayne and Monroe counties and is also currently available in Carbon, Crawford, Adams, Union, and Snyder counties.

SHARE is an affordable housing choice that brings together home hosts who have extra room in their home with home seekers who are looking for housing, in exchange for rent, help around the house, or a combination of both. Program participants must be at least 18 years of age and one of the individuals in the match must be over 60.

To learn more about the SHARE program and to check out videos and audio from the department’s marketing campaign to promote the program, visit the Department of Aging’s website. Individuals can also call 888-801-SHARE-HOME.